For the love of Dogs

I am a dog person. I have been that way since I was born and I will remain loyal to dogs till I die. Why a sudden rant about dogs, you might ask. Well, I watched the trailer for the movie A Dog’s Purpose, and I cried. Seriously, go watch the trailer. It is the most adorable thing that I have ever seen. A 2 minute 28 second trailer featuring puppy eyes, pleading dog eyes, happy dogs, dogs running in farm and just in general the most charming happy dogs has me waiting for January 27 like never before. Also, it is based on a book, so guess what’s next on my to-read list.

It is the perfect trailer that can ever exist. A Golden Retriever, a German Shepherd, a Corgi – the set of this movie must be heaven itself. I have always wondered what dogs think. Apparently they ponder over existential questions like ‘the meaning of life’.

“Bailey bailey bailey bailey” is Ethan’s best friend, standing up for him when his human friend makes fun of him and nudging him when he is too shy to approach his crush.  After spending his life with Ethan, good boy Bailey closes his eyes for one last time and 1 minute 14 seconds into the trailer my eyes well up. Good job Bailey.

Thankfully, that’s not the end of a dog’s life. Bailey reincarnates, serving his purpose, saving lives, being the best friend we all want and need, but don’t deserve. Bailey saying, “If I can get you licking and loving, I have my purpose” left me crying. I have owned three dogs in my life, two of whom are either in dog heaven or have reincarnated somewhere and are hopefully leading a happy life. This trailer had me thinking of the time I spent with them, how unconditional their love for me was and how much I miss them in my dogless dormitory existence.

All aboard the tear-train, ’cause I am crying so hard.

Leave a Reply

